Chakra Meditations

Using the chakras to guide yourself through meditation is a very powerful experience. There are seven core chakras to focus on in this meditation, they are as follows:

1. Root Charka (Muladhara)

2. Sacral Chakra (Svadhisthana)

3. Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura)

4. Heart Charka (Anahata)

5. Throat Chakra (Visshudda)

6. Third Eye Chakra (Ajna)

7. Crown Chakra (Sahasrara)

Each chakra is related to the different areas of mental and physical health. Using these chakra meditations can help to create harmony and balance within your experience and overall health.

We will focus on one meditation related to sound. You may also find visualizing the colors associated with each sound to help during this meditation especially if you are a visual person. Find a comfortable seated position wearing comfortable clothing like cotton yoga shorts and yoga shirts. Support your hips by lifting them slightly with a pillow or a blanket if you have tight hips. Sit with a straight but relaxed back. Let your hands fall onto your knees gently. There are many guided meditations that can be found online if you search chakra meditations that use guided imagery and mantras. You may find it easier to use this initially, but they are not necessary. You can do it all on your own.

Seed Sound Meditation

Each chakra has a seed sound. By chanting the sound, you produce a vibration that supports balance in this chakra. Always begin in the lower chakras, beginning with the root. The root chakra’s seed sound is “lam” and the color associated is red. Chant this sound on your exhalation 11 times. As you inhale, visualize the air traveling into your body and reaching down to your root, the area located between your genitals and anus (your perineum). As it reaches this point, visualize the air you are breathing pushing the area to spin slowly around like a windmill. It is said that a balanced chakra is spinning with energy and relaxed speed. As you exhale, imagine the air traveling from this location and out of your body. Repeat this method for each chakra. Next, imagine the air traveling down to your sacral area while chanting the sacral chakra’s seed sound, “vam”, and visualizing its color, orange. This is the area just above your genitals. Chant this seed sound again 11 times. Moving onto the solar plexus. The seed sound associated is “ram”, and its color is yellow. Again, you can visualize the breath twirling and stimulating the energy in the chakra.

Next, we move into the higher chakras. The heart chakra is located near the center of the chest, and the color associated with it is green. The seed sound to chant to stimulate the movement of this chakra is “yam”. After 11 repetitions, we can move up into our throat chakra by chanting “ham” and visualizing the throat chakra’s color of blue. The next chakra to focus on is the third eye or the brow chakra. This chakra’s color is indigo, and its seed sound is “om”. Finally, the last and highest of the chakras is the crown chakra. This is our connection to the source. Its seed sound is “aum”, and its color is violet.

Practice this meditation either with guidance or on your own, and may you experience divine bliss!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *